Turbulent Mixing and Beyond

Second International Conference and Advanced School

27 July - 07 August, 2009
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy


Goals and Objectives

Outline of Themes


Structure of the Conference and School

Invited Presentations and Tutorials

Young Scientist Award

Abstract Submission



Important Dates


Travel and Visas


Financial Support


Useful Links

Trieste, Italy


List of Invited Speakers and Lecturers

who are giving extended talk and tutorials, grouped by TMB themes

Canonical Turbulence and Turbulent Mixing
  • Luca Biferale (University of Roma tor Vergata, Italy)
  • Yukio Kaneda (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Masato Nagata (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Joseph J. Niemela (International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy)
  • Lipo Wang (RWTH-Aachen, Germany)
  • Victor Yakhot (Boston University, USA)
Wall-Bounded Flows
  • Henrik Alfredsson (KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Predrag Cvitanovich (Georgia Tech, USA)
  • Itamar Procaccia (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
  • Jurgen Seidel (US Air Force Academy, USA)
Non-Equilibrium Processes
  • Snezhana I Abarzhi (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Nicolas Hadjiconstantinou (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • William A. Goddard III (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Robert Gore (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Robert Rosner (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Katepalli R. Sreenivasan (International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy)
Interfacial Dynamics
  • Malcolm J. Andrews (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Serge Gauthier (Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France)
  • Chihiro Matsuoka (Ehime University, Japan)
  • Kazuyoshi Takayama (Institute of Fluid Sciences, Tohoku University, Japan)
  • David L. Youngs (Atomic Weapons Establishment, UK)
High Energy Density Physics
  • Yefim Aglitskiy (Science Applications International Corporation, USA)
  • Hiroshi Azechi (Institute for Laser Engineering, Osaka University, Japan)
  • Sergey Lebedev (Imperial College, UK)
  • Katsunobu Nishihara (Institute for Laser Engineering, Osaka University, Japan)
  • Bruce Remington (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Alexander L. Velikovich (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
Material Science
  • Hye-Sook Park (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Sergey Zybin (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Axel Brandenburg (Nordita, Denmark)
  • Ralph E. Pudritz (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Michael J. Thompson (University of Sheffield, UK)
  • Juri Toomre (University of Colorado, USA)
  • Ellen Zweibel (University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA)
Magneto-hydrodynamics and Magnetic Energy Fusion
  • Mitchell Berger (University of Exeter, UK)
  • Stanislav Boldyrev (University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA)
  • Walter Gekelman (University of California at Los Angeles, USA)
  • John A. Krommes (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, USA)
  • Ronald E. Waltz (General Atomics, USA)
Canonical Plasmas
  • Min-Chan Lee (Boston University, USA)
  • Eduard Son (Joint High Temperature Institute, Academy of Sciences, Russia)
Physics of AtmosphereGeophysics and Earth Science
  • Boris Galperin (University of South Florida, USA)
  • Terence O'Kane (Center for Australian Climate and Weather Research, Australia)
  • Annick Pouquet (University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, USA)
  • Victoria Sofieva (Finish Meteorological Institute, Finland)
  • Semion Sukoriansky (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)
  • Adri van Duin (Penn State University, USA)
  • Alexander Klimenko (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Valery I. Levitas (Iowa State University, USA)
Mathematical Aspects of Non-Equilibrium Dynamics
  • Yasuhide Fukumoto (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Konstantin Khanin (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Victor Lvov (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
  • Eitan Tadmor (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Vladimir E. Zakharov (University of Arizona, USA, and Lebedev Institute, Russia)
Stochastic Processes and Probabilistic Description
  • Yves Couder (l'Ecole Normale Superieure Paris, France)
  • Sergei Fedotov (University of Manchester, USA)
  • Andrew Majda (Courant Inst. Mathematical Studies, New York University, USA)
  • Alexander Nepomnyaschy (Technion, Israel)
Data Analysis and Processing
  • Befron Afeyan (Polymath Research Inc., USA)
  • Alexander Bershadskii (International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy)
Advanced Numerical Simulations
  • Bruce Fryxell (University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, USA)
  • James Glimm (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
  • Fernando Grinstein (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Daniel Livescu (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Dale Pullin (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Chi-Wang Shu (Brown University, USA)
Experimental Diagnostics
  • George Barbastathis (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Jeremie Bec (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, France)
  • Aline Cotel (University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, USA)
  • Nikolay Nevmerzhitskiy (Russian Federal Nuclear Center - VNIIEF, Russia)
  • Sergei S. Orlov (Stanford University, USA)
  • Katherine P. Prestridge (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Henry Childs (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Svetlozar Nestorov (University of Chicago, USA)