Turbulent Mixing and Beyond

Second International Conference and Advanced School

27 July - 07 August, 2009
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy


Goals and Objectives

Outline of Themes


Structure of the Conference and School

Invited Presentations and Tutorials

Young Scientist Award

Abstract Submission



Important Dates


Travel and Visas


Financial Support


Useful Links

Trieste, Italy


Organizing Committee

Local Organizing Committee at the ICTP


Suzie Radosic - Secretary of the Conference and School
- web-master of the Conference and School

Scientific Advisory Committee

  • S.I. Abarzhi (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Y. Aglitskiy (Science Applications International Corporation, USA)
  • H. Azechi (Institute for Laser Engineering, Osaka, Japan)
  • M.J. Andrews (Texas A & M University and Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • S.I. Anisimov (Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russia)
  • E. Bodenschatz (Max Plank Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization, Germany)
  • F. Cattaneo (University of Chicago, USA)
  • P. Cvitanovich (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • S. Cowley (Imperial College, UK)
  • S. Dalziel (DAMTP, Cambridge, UK)
  • W.S. Don (Brown University, USA)
  • R. Ecke (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • H.J. Fernando (Arizona State University, USA)
  • I. Foster (University of Chicago, USA)
  • S. Gauthier (Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France)
  • G.A. Glatzmaier (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
  • J. Glimm (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
  • W.A. Goddard III (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • J. Jimenez (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain)
  • L.P. Kadanoff (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • D.Q. Lamb (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • D.P. Lathrop (University of Maryland, USA)
  • S. Lebedev (Imperial College, UK)
  • P. Manneville (Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  • D.I. Meiron (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • P. Moin (Stanford University, USA)
  • A. Nepomnyashchy (Technion, Israel)
  • J. Niemela (International Center for Theoretical Physics, Italy)
  • K. Nishihara (Institute for Laser Engineering, Osaka, Japan)
  • S.S. Orlov (Stanford University, USA)
  • S.A. Orszag (Yale University, USA)
  • E. Ott (University of Maryland, USA)
  • N. Peters (RWTS, Aachen, Germany)
  • S.B. Pope (Cornell, USA)
  • A. Pouquet (University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, USA)
  • B.A. Remington (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • R. Rosner (Argonne National Laboratory and University of Chicago, USA)
  • A.J. Schmitt (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • C.-W. Shu (Brown University, USA)
  • K.R. Sreenivasan (International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy)
  • E. Tadmor (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Y.C. F. Thio (U.S. Department of Energy)
  • A.L. Velikovich (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • V. Yakhot (Boston University, USA)
  • P.K. Yeung (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • F.A. Williams (University of California at San Diego, USA)
  • E. Zweibel (University of Wisconsin, USA)

Selection Committee for Applications for Advanced School

  • S. Gauthier (Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France)
  • C.J. Keane (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • J. Niemela (International Center for Theoretical Physics, Italy)
  • S.S. Orlov (Stanford University, USA)
  • A.L. Velikovich (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • S.I. Abarzhi (University of Chicago, USA)