Skip navigation. — home > MultimediaPrint this page

Multimedia Publications and Printing Services

Video Downloading Centre

The Ramanujan Prize

The Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries has been awarded annually since 2005. It was originally instituted by ICTP, the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, and the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The participation of the Abel Fund ended in 2012; the 2013 Prize will be jointly funded and administered by ICTP and the IMU. The Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age on 31 December of the year of the award, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country. Researchers working in any branch of the mathematical sciences are eligible. The Prize carries a $15,000 cash award. The winner will be invited to ICTP to receive the Prize and deliver a lecture. The Prize is usually awarded to one person, but may be shared equally among recipients who have contributed to the same body of work. The Selection Committee will take into account not only the scientific quality of the research, but also the background of the candidate and the environment in which the work was carried out. The Committee will in particular favour candidates who have overcome adversity to achieve distinction in mathematics..



The Abdus Salam
International Centre
for Theoretical Physics
© 2013 ICTP Publications