Speaker Profiles

R. Chidambaram, Homi Bhabha Professor, is an internationally renowned Nuclear Physics Scientist. In his position of Principal Scientific Adviser to Government of India is member of the Indian Government Cabinet. He was formerly Secretary of Government of India Department of Atomic Energy and Chair of Atomic Energy Commission. He was also Chair of the Board of the Directors of International Atomic Energy Organisation. He promoted and launched with his Office the National Knowledge Network Plan (NKN), a multi-gigabit e-Infrastructure for connecting 1500 organisations, approved by Government of India in 2010 with a budget of over one billion euro for a period of 10 years and at present operationa,l connecting over 70 major research sites in India and interconnected with major research networks world-wide. Climate Change Applications represent one of the major NKN flagship applications. He was prominent speaker in many International Conferences and high-level International meetings such as the Davos World Economic Forum.

J.P. Van Ypersele, Professor at the Belgian Université catholique de Louvain is a prominent scientist in Climate Change research. He is vice-chair of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) since 2022. IPCC was awared the Nobel Prise for Peace in 2007. He has also been science advisor in the Belgian delegations to a dozen United  Nations conferences including Rio (1992), Berlin (1995), Kyoto (1997), Buenos Aires (1998), Marrakech (2001), Delhi (2002), Milan (2003), Montreal (2005), Nairobi (2006), and Bali (2007). He has participated to dozens  of outreach events related to the IPCC work, in Belgium and abroad (including, e.g., Brazil, Canada, France, Italy, Peru, Poland, Russia, Spain, The Netherlands, and United States), and is regularly interviewed by the media (Belgian  and international) on climate, environment, and sustainable development issues.

Prof George H. Philander  Princeton University, USA, is the Research Director, African Centre for  Climate and Earth System (ACCESS)  Cape Town, South Africa. He is a world-renown scientist in climate change research and distinguished member of many International Committees and Panels including  the Council of the International Center for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy;  the Committee on Science and Arts of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia;  Massachusetts Institute of Technology Visiting Committee;  the Commission on Geosciences, Environment and Resources (of the National Academy of  Sciences, U.S.A.). He is also member of committees to organize and steer international  atmospheric/oceanic projects such as  CLIVAR (Climate variability), TOGA (Tropical Oceans, Global Atmosphere), WOCE (World Ocean Circulation Experiment), PACS (Pan-American Climate Studies), EPOCS (Equatorial Pacific  Climate Studies), GATE (GARP Atlantic Tropical Experiment),  SEQUAL (Seasonal Cycle of the Equatorial Atlantic), Member of CLIVAR Africa Panel

Elfatih Eltahir  is Professor of Environmental Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge USA. He is an acknowledged specialist in Hydrology, Water Resources, and Hydroclimatology. He is member of the American Geophysical Union,  the American Meteorological Society , the Royal Meteorological Society,  the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Sudan Engineering Society. He is also member of the Editorial Board, Advances in Water Resources. In his career he was also member of many relevant Committees and organizations and Reviewer of  several proposals to NASA, NSF, NOAA, EPA, the UK Natural Environment.

Bin Wang is Professor of Meteorology at University  of Hawaii and chair of Department of Meteorology at the International Pacific Research Center (IPRC), Honolulu, USA. IPRC is an international climate research center, with a focus on the Asia-Pacific region. Professor Wang is an expert in variability and predictability of the Asian-Australian monsoon system, tropical intraseasonal oscillations, seasonal climate prediction, tropical cyclones, El Niño–Southern Oscillation dynamics, large-scale ocean-atmosphere interactions, the annual cycle in the coupled ocean-atmosphere-land system, interdecadal variability and climate changes of the Asian-Pacific climate.

Dr Sylvie Joussaume is  the Director of the National Institute of Sciences of the Universe (INSU/CNRS) and Director of the Department of Sciences of the Universe, France. She is also the Project Coordinator of  IS-ENES. IS-ENES, InfraStructure for the European Network for the Earth System Modelling is an FP7-Project funded by the European Commission under the Capacities Programme, Integrating Activities. The European Network for Earth System Modelling (ENES), through IS-ENES, promotes the development of a common distributed modelling research infrastructure in Europe in order to facilitate the development and exploitation of climate models and better fulfill the societal needs with regards to climate change issues. Sylvie Joussaume is recognized internationally for her expertise on the modeling of the past. Since 1991 she has coordinated an international program whose purpose is to compare climatic models in situations from the past . In light of her ability to mobilize the international scientific community to work on this project, she was subsequently invited to be involved in international scientific committees such as the CLIVAR Program (CLImate VARiability and predictability) GAIM (Global Analysis, Interpretation and Modeling) and to be part of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Giovanni Aloisio is full professor of Information Processing Systems at the Engineering Faculty of the University of Salento, Lecce, Italy and head of the Division “Scientific Computing and Operations” (SCO) at the Euro-Mediterranean Center for Climate Change  (CMCC). His expertise concerns high performance computing, grid & cloud computing and distributed data management. He has been a co-founder of the European Grid Forum (Egrid) which then merged into the Global Grid Forum (GGF), now Open Grid Forum (OGF). He was involved in the EGEE EU FP5-FP6 grid projects (Enabling Grids for E-science, http://www.eu-egee.org/). He is the responsible for CMCC of the EU-FP7 IS-ENES (InfraStructure for the European Network for Earth System modelling) project. He is the responsible for ENES of the EU-FP7 EESI (European Exascale Software Initiative) project and member of the ENES HPC Task Force. He is a key expert of IESP (International Exascale Software Project, http://www.exascale.org/iesp/) project, whose main goal is the definition of  the roadmap for a common, open source software infrastructure for scientific computing at exascale. He is the coordinator of the Climate-G project. He is the author of more than 100 papers in referred journals on parallel & grid computing.