ICTP-NMC School on Computational Physics


ICTP-NMC School on Computational Condensed Matter Physics

5 - 16 November 2007
Abuja, Nigeria

Venue: National Mathematical Center (NMC), Abuja, Nigeria

G.A. Adebayo (Univ. of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Nigeria)
S. Scandolo (The Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy)

Local Organizer:
J.O. Daniel (National Mathematical Center, Abuja, Nigeria)

The National Mathematical Center, Abuja, and the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste are organizing a School on Computational Condensed Matter Physics from 5th November to 16th November, 2007 in Abuja, Nigeria.
The aim of the school is to introduce graduate students and young researchers from Nigeria and the sub-Saharan region to the basic concepts in computational condensed matter physics, including numerical methods, molecular dynamics, Monte Carlo methods, electronic structure calculations, and advanced sampling methods, and to promote collaboration between computational condensed matter physicists from institutions in Nigeria and in the sub-region.

Scientific program:
Morning lectures by world leading experts in the field will be complemented by afternoon “hands-on” training sessions in the computer laboratory of NMC. Participants will be requested to have a reasonable knowledge of LINUX, or similar operating systems, and to be familiar with at least one programming language, possibly Fortran or C.

The list of lecturers includes:
Giovanni Bussi (ETH Lugano, Switzerland)
Giovanni Ciccotti (Universita' di Roma "La Sapienza", Roma, Italy)
Alessandro Laio (International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA), Trieste, Italy)
Erik Luijten (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA)
Richard Martin (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA)
Martin Muser (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Sandro Scandolo (ICTP, Trieste, Italy)

Local scientific committee:
Dr. O.D. Akinyemi, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Agric, Abeokuta
Dr. B.C. Anusionwu, Dept of Physics, Fed. Univ of Tech, Owerri
Dr. O.E. Awe, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Ibadan, Ibadan
Dr. B.S. Badmus, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Agriculture, Abeokuta
Prof. L.A. Hussain, Vice Chancellor, Lagos State Univ. Lagos
Dr. J.O. Idiodi, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Benin, Benin
Dr. A.N. Njah, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Agriculture, Abeokuta
Dr. F.O. Ogundare, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Ibadan, Ibadan
Dr. C.M.I Okoye, Univ. of Nigeria, Nsukka
Dr. Bidemi Laoye, Dept. of Physics, Olabis Onabanjo Univ. Ago-Iwoye
Dr. J.A. Olowfela, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Agriculture, Abeokuta
Dr. O.M. Oni Dept. of Physics, Ladoke Akintola Univ. Ogbomoso
Dr. M. Osiele, Dept. of Physics, Fed. Univ. of Tech, Akure
Dr. G.M. Zebaze-Kana, Physics Department, Shetsco, Abuja

Participation is open to young researchers, graduate students, or students holding at least a B.Sc. degree in Physics or related disciplines. Travel and subsistence expenses for a limited number of participants who are 45 year old or younger will be borne by the National Mathematics Center, Abuja. Limited funds may also be available for participants who are nationals of the sub-region outside the host country. Application forms are available for download at the web site listed below, or by contacting the organizers at: smr1921@ictp.it

Deadline for requesting participation is 30th September, 2007

Application forms can be dowloaded by clicking here

A copy of the poster can be downloaded by clicking here (DOC) or here (PDF) or